Establishment of a Diocese of the Northern Territory, Domestic and Family Violence Committee

Recommendation:

It is recommended that the Diocesan Council:

- Endorse the membership of the Diocese of the Northern Territory, Domestic and Family Violence Committee as The Revd Joshua Kuswadi, The Revd Naomi Ireland, Mrs Miriam McDonald; Ms Phillipa Muzhingi and the Revd Lois Nadjamerrek.
- Note that the Committee will meet at least twice annually and report on its progress to the next Synod.

Background:

A successful motion at the Synod 2021 requires the appointment of a Domestic and Family Violence Committee (the Committee) by the Diocese of the Northern Territory to ensure appropriate and meaningful implementation of the Ten commitments for Prevention and Response to Domestic and Family Violence in the Anglican Church of Australia. These commitments and relevant background material are published on the Anglican Church of Australia's website at <u>Family Violence | Anglican</u> <u>Church of Australia</u>. In addition, there is extensive material published on family violence initiatives within other Anglican Dioceses on the websites of the Anglican Dioceses of Melbourne, Sydney, Perth and Adelaide.

Discussions at Diocesan Council (5th November 2021) recommended the Committee comprise 3-5 persons (two clergy and two laypersons and include one person from a remote area) and parish rectors could seek out people who may be interested in joining.

Current Position:

Several names were put forward at the November Diocese Council meeting for potential committee members. Some of these people, namely the Revd Joshua Kuswadi, the Revd Naomi Ireland and Mrs Miriam McDonald have confirmed their willingness to be members of the Committee. However, Mr Gnano Kandiah from Alice Springs, advised he has recently taken on other responsibilities and is unable to commit. The Revd Glenys Hannah, sought out interest from Katherine's St Paul's parishioners and Ms Phillipa Muzhingi has indicated her willingness to represent regional urban parishes on the Committee. The Revd Lois Nadjamerrek, from Emmanuel Church, Gunbalanya, who was the co-sponsor of the Synod motion, has been identified as the remote area committee member.

It is proposed that I write to the nominees inviting them to form the Committee.

The Committee:

- Will operate independently from the Diocese Office with administrative support provided on an as needs basis.
- Will determine the objectives and outcomes it seeks to achieve and
- Report on its progress to the next Diocesan Synod in 2023.